Chit Chat

Issue 4 appeared on the November, 2020 Municipal General Election ballot. Issue 4 was an initiative petition to create a City Council Ward System with four ward seats and three seats at-large. It was defeated by the electorate.

Brian Zimmerman, Cleveland Metro parks CEO, presented the City with a national award from NACPRP (The National Association of County Park and Recreation Officials) for our role in the design and construction of the Brecksville portion of the Valley Parkway Connector Trail at the November 3rd meeting of City Council. Both Mayor Hruby and Director Zimmerman shared words of praise for the role of the Metro parks, the City of Brecksville and our neighbor City of Broadview Heights. The Metro parks has acquired properties within the City of Brecksville for future additions to the Metro Park’s preservation of land and creation of trails and walkways. Brecksville is the largest-in-acreage portion of the Emerald Necklace System. The connectivity among the City, the Metro parks and the Cuyahoga Valley National Park provides countless recreational opportunities for the region. Plans are ongoing to connect other park lands to our city areas and provide access to the existing trails and walkway/bikeways.
Police Chief Goodrich and Fire Lieutenant Brian Zimlich retired in 2021. Stan Korinek was appointed Police Chief. Craig S. Mares was named Police Lieutenant and Sergio DiGeronimo Jr. was named Fire Lieutenant. Both Lieutenants filing the vacancies with the two retirements.
Police Prosecutor and Assistant Law Director Sergio DiGeronimo has left the city’s employ as he was appointed Judge in The Garfield Heights Municipal Court by Governor Mike DeWine on December 20, 2021. We congratulate Judge DiGeronimo and thank him for his dedicated service to our city for 23 years. He will be missed but will continue to serve our city in his new role as Brecksville is one of the communities served by Garfield Heights’ court. Lisa Sabol Esq. was named Police Prosecutor having worked with Prosecutor DiGeronimo and his Assistant Law Director role. Welcome Prosecutor Sabol.
We are saddened by the loss of former Councilman Larry Potla who passed away in October 2021. Larry served on City Council from 1996 to 2011, and was President of City Council from 2006 to 2011. Larry also volunteered at Human Services and with the Mayor, created the Honor Tree which benefits those in need through donations and the naming of a leaf on the Honor Tree.
Brecksville was named the third best city by Cleveland Magazine in its 2021 “Rating of the Suburbs”.
Sherwin Williams has announced at its Research and Development Center Ground Breaking on October 22, 2021, it plans 900 jobs at this site and “that’s just the beginning”. We thank President/CEO John Morikias, his staff, and all whom participated in the process of bringing this facility to our city our sincere appreciation. Governor Mike DeWine, US Senator Rob Portman, State Senator Matt Dolan, State Representative Phil Robinson, Cuyahoga County Executive Armond Budish were present and gave their remarks. Mayor Jerry Hruby spoke on behalf of the city. US Senator Sherrod Brown presented a video with his remarks and US Representative Dave Joyce sent a message from the US Congress.
City Councilman, President Mike Harwood and members Kim Veres and Louis N. Carouse Jr. did not seek re-election on November 2, 2021. They were honored at their final council meeting on December 21, 2021.
There were six (6) names on the November 2, 2021 ballot for City Council. Elected were: AJ Ganim, Brian Stucky, and Beth Savage to four year terms (expiring January 1, 2026), and Daryl Kingston to a two year term (expiring January 1,2024).
They were administered the Oath of Office by Mayor Jerry N. Hruby on January 2, 2022 at 8:00PM in the Ralph W Biggs City Council Chambers of City Hall. The regular City Council meeting will began immediately following their ceremony.
Resolutions of Commendations were adopted in honor of the service outgoing Council President Mike Hardwood, members Kim Veras and Louis Carouse provided to our city.
Board and Commission appointments were approved and outgoing commission and board members were recognized for their contributions as volunteer members.
Commendations were given to John Adams for his 23 years serving on the Municipal Facility Use & Review Board as a Citizen Member, Dr. Tom Cyphert for his 2 years of service on the Human Services Advisory Board, Darryl Mancini for his 12 years serving on the Telecommunications Board, Allan Pintner for his 30 years of service to the Design and Construction Review Board, Kathleen Roberts for her 22 years of service on the Human Services Advisory Board and the Board of Zoning Appeals, and Kirk Roman for his 15 years of service on the Planning Commission.

Newly appointed Boards and Commissions are as follows
Planning Commission Appointment
• Monica Bartkiewicz as a Citizen Member
• Brian Stucky as the Council Representative

Board of Zoning Appeals Appointment
• Nora Gagliano as a Citizen Member
• Dominic Caruso as the Council Representative

Recreation Commission Appointment
• Charles Boulware as a Citizen Member
• Nicholas Hanna as a Citizen Member
• AJ Ganim as the Council Representative

Design and Construction Review Board Appointment
• John Woelfl as a Citizen Member

Human Services Advisory Board
• Kimberly Veras as a Citizen Member
• Ann Koepke as a Council Representative

Civil Service Commission
• Scott McCreery as a Citizen Member

Municipal Facility Registration and Use Review Council Rep
• Daryl Kingston as the Council Representative
• Beth Savage as the Council Representative
• Ann Koepke as the Human Services Advisory Board Council Representative
• AJ Ganim as the Recreation Commission Council Representative
• Jeffrey Firestone as the Recreation Commission Citizen member
• Susan Putich Kisling as the Human Services Advisory Board Citizen Member
• Michael Krenisky as the Citizen Member

Telecommunications Commission
• Joseph Flemming as a Citizen Member
• Jennifer Elting as a Citizen Member
• Beth Savage as the Council Representative

Volunteer Firemen’s Dependents Board
• Daryl Kingston as a Council Representative
• AJ Ganim as a Council Representative

Mayor Jerry N. Hruby